Compare franchises side by side
Pick 2–3 brands and see their disclosure-filing numbers in one table — the same figures their brand pages show, gaps marked "Not disclosed." No score, no ranking: the table is the comparison, and the judgment stays yours.
Side-by-side cost comparison
| Figure | Handyman Connection | Mr. Handyman |
|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $71,000 | $70,500 |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range | $115,837 – $238,736 | $143,150 – $179,600 |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $200,000 | $250,000 |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $100,000 | $50,000 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 6% | 7% |
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed | Up to 2% |
| Units on recordFrom filed unit history where it exists | 61 (filed history, 2012–2021) | 308 (filed history, 2012–2022) |
| 3-yr unit survivalOur recomputed metric from filed unit history | 79.7% of units at risk 2019–2021 did not close | 90.9% of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close |
| Litigation on recordFranchise-related lawsuits in disclosure filings (FDD Item 3 class) | 0 on record as of 2026-05 | 0 on record as of 2026-05 |
| Protected territoryExclusive/protected area is set in FDD Item 12 — varies by brand, not a field we hold | Not in our data — ask the brand; see Item 12 | Not in our data — ask the brand; see Item 12 |
| Veteran incentiveDocumented incentives only; the brand's own wording | None on file — not proof the brand offers none | None on file — not proof the brand offers none |
| SBA-eligible flagAs flagged in the dataset | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $115,837 – $238,736 | $143,150 – $179,600 |
"Not disclosed" means the brand's filings we can source don't state the figure — a gap, not a zero. This page compares filed numbers only; it can't tell you which brand fits you. Open each brand's full cost page before you talk to anyone. Share this comparison by copying the address — the URL carries your picks.
Territory is missing from this table on purpose: whether a brand grants a protected or exclusive area is negotiated per agreement and disclosed in Item 12 of each FDD, not a figure we hold. What a protected territory is, and what to ask.