Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

How much is 7-Eleven franchise? $142,150 – $1,627,710 to open, per its disclosure filings

$142,150 – $1,627,710

cash to open, all-inas of 2026-05

Opening 7-Eleven franchise takes $142,150 – $1,627,710 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is not disclosed in the filings we cover. To qualify, 7-Eleven asks for $50,000 in liquid cash. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

7-Eleven's franchise fee is set per store — published figures run from $0 to roughly $1.1M depending on the store's sales history and market — so no single fee is comparable across locations. That is why no fee renders in the table above.

There is no percentage-of-sales royalty: 7-Eleven splits the store's gross profit with the franchisee (roughly half each, varying by program and store). In exchange, 7-Eleven provides the store, land, and equipment, and pays building rent — the model is closer to an operating partnership than a standard franchise.

7-Eleven advertises financing (up to 65% of the initial investment, if qualified) and a veteran franchise-fee discount (published between 10% and 20%, capped at $50,000 on a first store) — confirm current terms with the franchisor directly.

Editorially reviewed 2026-07-07 (APEX editorial lane) — sources: franchise.7-eleven.com · franchisegator.com · vettedbiz.com

7-Eleven cost table

The 7-Eleven all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signingNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$142,150 to $1,627,710
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$50,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$142,150 to $1,627,710
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means 7-Eleven's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 0.5%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

The investment figure is a RANGE of FDD Item 7 line items — real estate, build-out, equipment, and working capital, each varying with your market. Our source data carries only the aggregate; the line-by-line amounts and their footnotes are in the brand's FDD Item 7 table. What Item 7 is and how to read it

What's in that number — and what isn't

The $142,150 – $1,627,710 range is derived from 7-Eleven's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.

Not in the opening number: ongoing royalties (rate not disclosed), the ad-fund contribution of up to 0.5%, and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.

How 7-Eleven's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where 7-Eleven's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $142,150 — about in line with the Retail median of $165,000.

Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for 7-Eleven or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask 7-Eleven for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

Get more information about 7-ElevenStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Check your investment band — compare franchises by budget

How much money do you need to qualify for 7-Eleven franchise?

7-Eleven's filings ask for $50,000 in liquid cash (as of 2026-05). Capital figures are the franchisor's stated minimums, not our advice.

How much is a 7-Eleven franchise?

There is no single 7-Eleven franchise fee. It is set per store based on the location's sales history and market, and published figures run from $0 to roughly $1.1 million — which is why the fee cell above is left blank rather than guessed. 7-Eleven also advertises financing for up to 65% of the initial investment for qualified buyers.

Does 7-Eleven charge a royalty?

Not a percentage-of-sales royalty. Instead, 7-Eleven takes a share of the store's gross profit — roughly half, varying by program and store — and in exchange provides and owns the store, land, and equipment and pays the rent. Compare the gross-profit split, not a royalty rate, when you evaluate this model.

Full 7-Eleven profile: unit track record, quick answers & more