How much is a Ben & Jerry's franchise? $152,200 – $522,800 to open, per its disclosure filings
$152,200 – $522,800
Opening a Ben & Jerry's franchise takes $152,200 – $522,800 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $7,500 – $16,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 3% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 4%. To qualify, Ben & Jerry's asks for $100,000 in liquid cash and a $350,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Ben & Jerry's cost table
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $7,500 | $16,000 | $7,500 to $16,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $152,200 | $522,800 | $152,200 to $522,800 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $350,000 | $350,000 | $350,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $100,000 | $100,000 | $100,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $152,200 | $522,800 | $152,200 to $522,800 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 3% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 4% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
What's in that number — and what isn't
The $152,200 – $522,800 range is derived from Ben & Jerry's's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.
Not in the opening number: the ongoing royalty of 3% on sales, the ad-fund contribution of up to 4%, and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.
How Ben & Jerry's's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Ben & Jerry's's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:
- Minimum startup cost of $152,200 — about 46% below the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
- Initial franchise fee of $7,500 — about 79% below the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.
Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Ben & Jerry's or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Ben & Jerry's for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What is the Ben & Jerry's franchise fee?
$7,500 – $16,000, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
What ongoing fees does Ben & Jerry's charge?
A royalty of 3% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 4%, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
How much money do you need to qualify for a Ben & Jerry's franchise?
Ben & Jerry's's filings ask for $100,000 in liquid cash and a $350,000 minimum net worth (as of 2026-05). Capital figures are the franchisor's stated minimums, not our advice.