How much is a Crown Trophy franchise? $168,150 – $199,200 to open, per its disclosure filings
$168,150 – $199,200
Opening a Crown Trophy franchise takes $168,150 – $199,200 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $118,000 – $128,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. To qualify, Crown Trophy asks for $50,000 in liquid cash and a $50,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Crown Trophy cost table
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $118,000 | $128,000 | $118,000 to $128,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $168,150 | $199,200 | $168,150 to $199,200 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $50,000 | $50,000 | $50,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $50,000 | $50,000 | $50,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $168,150 | $199,200 | $168,150 to $199,200 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 2% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
What's in that number — and what isn't
The $168,150 – $199,200 range is derived from Crown Trophy's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.
Not in the opening number: the ongoing royalty of 5% on sales, the ad-fund contribution of up to 2%, and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.
How Crown Trophy's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Crown Trophy's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:
- Minimum startup cost of $168,150 — about in line with the Retail median of $165,000.
- Initial franchise fee of $118,000 — about 3.2× the Retail median of $36,750.
Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Crown Trophy or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Crown Trophy for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What is the Crown Trophy franchise fee?
$118,000 – $128,000, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
What ongoing fees does Crown Trophy charge?
A royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
How much money do you need to qualify for a Crown Trophy franchise?
Crown Trophy's filings ask for $50,000 in liquid cash and a $50,000 minimum net worth (as of 2026-05). Capital figures are the franchisor's stated minimums, not our advice.