Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

How much is a Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness franchise? $456,858 – $915,536 to open, per its disclosure filings

$456,858 – $915,536

cash to open, all-inas of 2026-05

Opening a Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness franchise takes $456,858 – $915,536 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $55,000 – $64,500. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6.5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 3%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness cost table

The Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$55,000 to $64,500
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$456,858 to $915,536
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$456,858 to $915,536
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales6.5%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 3%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

The investment figure is a RANGE of FDD Item 7 line items — real estate, build-out, equipment, and working capital, each varying with your market. Our source data carries only the aggregate; the line-by-line amounts and their footnotes are in the brand's FDD Item 7 table. What Item 7 is and how to read it

What's in that number — and what isn't

The $456,858 – $915,536 range is derived from Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.

Not in the opening number: the ongoing royalty of 6.5% on sales, the ad-fund contribution of up to 3%, and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.

How Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $456,858 — about 1.6× the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
  • Initial franchise fee of $55,000 — about 1.6× the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.

Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

Get more information about Rita's Ice-Custard-HappinessStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Check your investment band — compare franchises by budget

What is the Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness franchise fee?

$55,000 – $64,500, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.

What ongoing fees does Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness charge?

A royalty of 6.5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 3%, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.

Full Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness profile: unit track record, quick answers & more