How much is a Winchell's franchise? $51,300 – $346,000 to open, per its disclosure filings
$51,300 – $346,000
Opening a Winchell's franchise takes $51,300 – $346,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $10,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 5%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Winchell's cost table
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $10,000 | $10,000 | $10,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $51,300 | $346,000 | $51,300 to $346,000 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $51,300 | $346,000 | $51,300 to $346,000 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Winchell's's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 5% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
What's in that number — and what isn't
The $51,300 – $346,000 range is derived from Winchell's's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.
Not in the opening number: the ongoing royalty of 5% on sales, the ad-fund contribution of up to 5%, and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.
How Winchell's's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Winchell's's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:
- Minimum startup cost of $51,300 — about 82% below the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
- Initial franchise fee of $10,000 — about 71% below the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.
Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Winchell's or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Winchell's for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What is the Winchell's franchise fee?
$10,000, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
What ongoing fees does Winchell's charge?
A royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 5%, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.