How much is a Burger 21 franchise? $412,781 – $1,055,436 to open, per its disclosure filings
$412,781 – $1,055,436
Opening a Burger 21 franchise takes $412,781 – $1,055,436 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $27,000 – $40,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. To qualify, Burger 21 asks for $250,000 in liquid cash and a $600,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Burger 21 cost table
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $27,000 | $40,000 | $27,000 to $40,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $412,781 | $1,055,436 | $412,781 to $1,055,436 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $600,000 | $600,000 | $600,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $250,000 | $250,000 | $250,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $412,781 | $1,055,436 | $412,781 to $1,055,436 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 1% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 10 years |
What's in that number — and what isn't
The $412,781 – $1,055,436 range is derived from Burger 21's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.
Not in the opening number: the ongoing royalty of 5% on sales, the ad-fund contribution of up to 1%, and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.
How Burger 21's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Burger 21's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:
- Minimum startup cost of $412,781 — about 1.5× the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
- Initial franchise fee of $27,000 — about 23% below the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.
Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Burger 21 or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Burger 21 for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What is the Burger 21 franchise fee?
$27,000 – $40,000, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
What ongoing fees does Burger 21 charge?
A royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
How much money do you need to qualify for a Burger 21 franchise?
Burger 21's filings ask for $250,000 in liquid cash and a $600,000 minimum net worth (as of 2026-05). Capital figures are the franchisor's stated minimums, not our advice.