How much is a Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham franchise? $6,816,044 – $8,450,250 to open, per its disclosure filings
$6,816,044 – $8,450,250
Opening a Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham franchise takes $6,816,044 – $8,450,250 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $51,950 – $72,650. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. To qualify, Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham asks for $500,000 in liquid cash. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham cost table
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $51,950 | $72,650 | $51,950 to $72,650 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $6,816,044 | $8,450,250 | $6,816,044 to $8,450,250 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $500,000 | $500,000 | $500,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $6,816,044 | $8,450,250 | $6,816,044 to $8,450,250 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 6% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 2% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 20 years |
What's in that number — and what isn't
The $6,816,044 – $8,450,250 range is derived from Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.
Not in the opening number: the ongoing royalty of 6% on sales, the ad-fund contribution of up to 2%, and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.
How Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham's disclosed cost sits against the Lodging & Leisure category:
- Minimum startup cost of $6,816,044 — about in line with the Lodging & Leisure median of $6,130,275.
- Initial franchise fee of $51,950 — about 18% below the Lodging & Leisure median of $63,600.
Category medians are computed from the Lodging & Leisure brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Lodging & Leisure franchises
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What is the Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham franchise fee?
$51,950 – $72,650, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
What ongoing fees does Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham charge?
A royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
How much money do you need to qualify for a Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham franchise?
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham's filings ask for $500,000 in liquid cash (as of 2026-05). Capital figures are the franchisor's stated minimums, not our advice.