How much is a Scissors & Scotch franchise? $502,300 – $1,085,034 to open, per its disclosure filings
$502,300 – $1,085,034
Opening a Scissors & Scotch franchise takes $502,300 – $1,085,034 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $105,000 – $206,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6.5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1.25%. To qualify, Scissors & Scotch asks for $170,000 in liquid cash and a $375,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Scissors & Scotch cost table
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $105,000 | $206,000 | $105,000 to $206,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $502,300 | $1,085,034 | $502,300 to $1,085,034 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $375,000 | $375,000 | $375,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $170,000 | $170,000 | $170,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $502,300 | $1,085,034 | $502,300 to $1,085,034 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 6.5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 1.25% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 10 years |
What's in that number — and what isn't
The $502,300 – $1,085,034 range is derived from Scissors & Scotch's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.
Not in the opening number: the ongoing royalty of 6.5% on sales, the ad-fund contribution of up to 1.25%, and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.
How Scissors & Scotch's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Scissors & Scotch's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:
- Minimum startup cost of $502,300 — about 2.7× the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
- Initial franchise fee of $105,000 — about 2.1× the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.
Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Scissors & Scotch or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Scissors & Scotch for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What is the Scissors & Scotch franchise fee?
$105,000 – $206,000, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
What ongoing fees does Scissors & Scotch charge?
A royalty of 6.5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1.25%, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
How much money do you need to qualify for a Scissors & Scotch franchise?
Scissors & Scotch's filings ask for $170,000 in liquid cash and a $375,000 minimum net worth (as of 2026-05). Capital figures are the franchisor's stated minimums, not our advice.