How much is a Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan franchise? $85,525 – $186,930 to open, per its disclosure filings
$85,525 – $186,930
Opening a Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan franchise takes $85,525 – $186,930 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $36,640 – $50,140. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.
Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan cost table
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $36,640 | $50,140 | $36,640 to $50,140 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $85,525 | $186,930 | $85,525 to $186,930 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $85,525 | $186,930 | $85,525 to $186,930 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
What's in that number — and what isn't
The $85,525 – $186,930 range is derived from Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.
Not in the opening number: ongoing royalties (rate not disclosed), and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.
How Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan's disclosed cost sits against the Education & Arts category:
- Minimum startup cost of $85,525 — about in line with the Education & Arts median of $100,538.
- Initial franchise fee of $36,640 — about 18% below the Education & Arts median of $44,750.
Category medians are computed from the Education & Arts brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Education & Arts franchises
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What is the Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan franchise fee?
$36,640 – $50,140, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.