Senior care franchises: what you're really buying
Senior care franchising mostly means non-medical home care: help with daily living, billed by the hour, staffed by caregivers you recruit and schedule. Across the 57 senior-care brands our dataset matches to the trade, 53 disclose a minimum investment; the median is $87,459 (as of 2026-05). Skilled home health is a different license class entirely. The operating constraint isn't finding clients — it's finding and keeping caregivers.
What business are you actually buying?
"Senior care" covers at least four different businesses, and brands blur them in marketing. Non-medical home care — companionship, bathing, meals, transportation — is where most franchising happens. Skilled home health adds nursing and therapy, and requires a clinical license class most first-time buyers can't hold. Placement agencies earn referral fees moving families into communities. And senior-living concepts are real estate plays. Before comparing fees, confirm which of these a brand actually sells — the license, staffing, and revenue models don't transfer between them.
What does a senior care franchise cost?
Across the 57 brands our matcher ties to the senior-care trade, 53 disclose investment figures: totals run $6,400 – $2,202,720, with a median minimum of $87,459; disclosed initial fees run $150 – $125,075 (all as of 2026-05). Home care sits at the affordable end of franchising because there's no build-out — the money goes to licensing, insurance, recruiting, and months of payroll float. The canonical senior-care hub shows the cost table brand by brand, with "not disclosed" printed where a brand won't say.
What licenses do you need?
Most states require a home-care agency license even for non-medical care, with surveys, caregiver background checks, and training-hour minimums; a growing number add annual renewals and administrator qualifications. Timelines vary from weeks to many months by state, and your franchise agreement's opening deadline runs whether or not the state hurries. Check your state's requirements before signing, and make the franchisor show you which states its onboarding team has actually licensed units in recently.
Where does the revenue come from?
Hourly-billed care, mostly private pay — families writing checks — supplemented by long-term-care insurance, veterans' programs, and, in some states, Medicaid waivers. Traditional Medicare does not pay for non-medical home care, a fact worth repeating because families assume otherwise. Margins live in the spread between your bill rate and caregiver wages; census (weekly billed hours) is the metric that decides whether you're profitable, and building census takes months of working capital most headline numbers understate.
What's the hard part?
Caregivers. Every operator in this trade says the same thing: demand walks in the door; supply doesn't. Recruiting, scheduling, and retaining caregivers in a labor market that competes with retail wages is the daily job, and your on-call phone rings when a 6 a.m. shift breaks. Buyers who picture marketing to families and find themselves running a staffing agency are this trade's classic mismatch — validate exactly this with existing franchisees before you commit.
Is the demand real?
The demographics are not hype: the Census Bureau projects roughly 82 million Americans aged 65 and over by 2050, and the Bureau of Labor Statistics has ranked home health and personal care aides among the fastest-growing occupations in its employment projections. But macro demand is not unit economics — your census, your wage market, and your referral relationships are local. Strong demographics plus weak caregiver supply is precisely why staffing, not demand, decides outcomes.
How do you evaluate a specific senior care brand?
- Ask how the territory is defined — population 65+, not raw population, is the number that matters.
- Read Item 19 for billed-hours and census disclosures, not just revenue; ask validation calls how long reaching break-even census took.
- Check Item 20 exits against openings — churn in this trade often traces to under-capitalized ramps.
- Compare the required technology and scheduling stack — it's a monthly fee and a daily workflow.
- Confirm which payer types the brand's model actually supports in YOUR state (private pay only, or Medicaid/VA too).
Quick answers
- How much does a home care franchise cost?
- Across the 53 senior-care brands in our dataset with disclosed figures, totals run $6,400 – $2,202,720 with a median minimum of $87,459 (as of 2026-05). No build-out keeps entry costs down; payroll float during the census ramp is the real capital requirement.
- Do you need medical experience to own a senior care franchise?
- Not for non-medical home care — you're running staffing, scheduling, and sales, and states require training rather than clinical credentials. Skilled home health is different: it's a clinical license class that typically requires licensed medical staff and a much heavier compliance load.
- Is senior care recession-resistant?
- Care need doesn't drop in recessions, but private-pay hours can — families cut back or take on care themselves. Operators with mixed payer sources and strong referral networks weather downturns better than pure private-pay books. "Resistant" is fair; "immune" is marketing.
- Where do I compare senior care franchise brands?
- Our senior care hub lists every matched brand with its filed costs — fees, cash to open, and unit history — dated per figure, with "not disclosed" where a brand won't say. Start there, then pull the FDD for your shortlist.
Keep researching
Compare the brands with numbers attached
The senior care hub shows filed costs for every matched brand — and prints "not disclosed" where a brand won't say.
Guides are free to read, with no sign-up. How this site makes money