Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

American Express Travel franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Auto & TravelFDD entity year 1982

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit American Express Travel's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. American Express Travel's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening an American Express Travel franchise takes $30,000 – $50,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $30,000 – $33,500. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for American Express Travel, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.

American Express Travel franchise costs and fees

The American Express Travel all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$30,000 to $33,500
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$30,000 to $50,000
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$30,000 to $50,000
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means American Express Travel's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full American Express Travel cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How American Express Travel's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where American Express Travel's disclosed cost sits against the Auto & Travel category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $30,000 — about 83% below the Auto & Travel median of $177,500.
  • Initial franchise fee of $30,000 — about in line with the Auto & Travel median of $33,740.

Category medians are computed from the Auto & Travel brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Auto & Travel franchises

Get free info about American Express Travel

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about American Express Travel + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How American Express Travel's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2020: began the window at 138 units; 29 units opened, 103 closed, ending at 22 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

29 units opened and 103 closed between 2012 and 2020.2012: 3 opened2012: 21 closed2014: 2 closed2015: 3 closed2016: 10 opened2016: 51 closed2017: 16 opened2017: 24 closed2020: 2 closed
60.6%
of units at risk 2017–2020 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. American Express Travel began the window at 138 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 29 units opened and 103 closed between 2012 and 2020.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for American Express Travel or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask American Express Travel for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether American Express Travel is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether American Express Travel grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only American Express Travel can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the American Express Travel franchise

American Express Travel is an auto & travel franchisor with 22 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2020, it began the window at 138 units; its filings record 29 unit openings and 103 closures, ending at 22 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is American Express Travel Related Services Company, Inc..

Disclosure filings report 39 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

The franchisee will offer limited American Express Travel services in conjunction with its independently owned and operated travel business.

Excerpted from American Express Travel's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

American Express Travel franchise: quick answers

How much does an American Express Travel franchise cost?
$30,000 – $50,000 all-in to open, per American Express Travel's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many American Express Travel units are there?
22 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have American Express Travel's units held up?
60.6% of units at risk between 2017 and 2020 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).