Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Cottage Inn Pizza franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Food & BeverageSBA-eligibleFDD entity year 1978

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Cottage Inn Pizza's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Cottage Inn Pizza franchise takes $216,000 – $500,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $50,000 – $80,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 3%. To qualify, Cottage Inn Pizza asks for $100,000 in liquid cash and a $250,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Cottage Inn Pizza franchise costs and fees

The Cottage Inn Pizza all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$50,000 to $80,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$216,000 to $500,000
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$250,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$100,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$216,000 to $500,000
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales5%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 3%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Cottage Inn Pizza cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Cottage Inn Pizza's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Cottage Inn Pizza's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $216,000 — about 24% below the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
  • Initial franchise fee of $50,000 — about 1.4× the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.

Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises

Get free info about Cottage Inn Pizza

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Cottage Inn Pizza + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Cottage Inn Pizza's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 44 units; 22 units opened, 17 closed, ending at 45 units. (partial records: 2017, 2018, 2019 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

22 units opened and 17 closed between 2012 and 2022.2012: 4 opened2012: 9 closed2013: 1 opened2013: 3 closed2014: 2 opened2014: 1 closed2015: 10 opened2016: 1 opened2016: 2 closed2021: 3 opened2021: 2 closed2022: 1 opened
95.7%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Cottage Inn Pizza began the window at 44 units. Note — partial records: 2017, 2018, 2019 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 22 units opened and 17 closed between 2012 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Cottage Inn Pizza or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Cottage Inn Pizza for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Cottage Inn Pizza is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Cottage Inn Pizza grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Cottage Inn Pizza can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Cottage Inn Pizza franchise

Cottage Inn Pizza is a food & beverage franchisor with 45 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 44 units; its filings record 22 unit openings and 17 closures, ending at 45 units (partial records: 2017, 2018, 2019 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Cottage Inn Carry Out & Delivery, Inc..

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

Since the first store opened in Ann Arbor, Michigan in 1948, Cottage Inn has always put pizza quality above everything else. With over 50 locations across the Midwest, and plans to expand nationally, Cottage Inn is now offering area development agreements in new territories to new and existing franchisees that are interested in getting in on the ground floor of something spectacular. Our concepts include carryout and delivery, dine-in, and buffet bars, so we are sure to meet your area demogra...

Excerpted from Cottage Inn Pizza's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Cottage Inn Pizza franchise: quick answers

How much does a Cottage Inn Pizza franchise cost?
$216,000 – $500,000 all-in to open, per Cottage Inn Pizza's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Cottage Inn Pizza units are there?
45 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Cottage Inn Pizza's units held up?
95.7% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).
Is Cottage Inn Pizza SBA-eligible?
Cottage Inn Pizza is flagged SBA-eligible in our dataset (as of 2026-05). Confirm current status on the SBA Franchise Directory before relying on it for financing.