Flowers Baking Co. franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Flowers Baking Co. franchise takes $58,440 – $240,600 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $50,000 – $150,000. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Flowers Baking Co., each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.
Flowers Baking Co. franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $50,000 | $150,000 | $50,000 to $150,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $58,440 | $240,600 | $58,440 to $240,600 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $58,440 | $240,600 | $58,440 to $240,600 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Flowers Baking Co.'s filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full Flowers Baking Co. cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Flowers Baking Co.'s cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Flowers Baking Co.'s disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:
- Minimum startup cost of $58,440 — about 79% below the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
- Initial franchise fee of $50,000 — about 1.4× the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.
Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Flowers Baking Co.'s units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2014–2021: began the window at 0 units; 131 units opened, 9 closed, ending at 287 units. (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Flowers Baking Co. or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Flowers Baking Co. for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Flowers Baking Co. is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Flowers Baking Co. grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Flowers Baking Co. can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Flowers Baking Co. franchise
Flowers Baking Co. is a food & beverage franchisor with 287 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2014 and 2021, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 131 unit openings and 9 closures, ending at 287 units (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Flowers Baking Co. of California, LLC.
Disclosure filings report 13 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
FLOWERS BAKING CO. OF HENDERSON, LLC ("Flowers") manufactures and/or distributes various bakery products, most of which are then distributed to retail stores and other customers (including military and institutional accounts) through a network of independent distributor franchisees
Flowers Baking Co. franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Flowers Baking Co. franchise cost?
- $58,440 – $240,600 all-in to open, per Flowers Baking Co.'s franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Flowers Baking Co. units are there?
- 287 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Flowers Baking Co.'s units held up?
- 98% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).