Romeo's Pizza franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Romeo's Pizza franchise takes $190,800 – $640,500 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $30,000 – $102,500. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. To qualify, Romeo's Pizza asks for $100,000 in liquid cash and a $350,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Romeo's Pizza franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $30,000 | $102,500 | $30,000 to $102,500 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $190,800 | $640,500 | $190,800 to $640,500 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $350,000 | $350,000 | $350,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $100,000 | $100,000 | $100,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $190,800 | $640,500 | $190,800 to $640,500 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 2% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full Romeo's Pizza cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Romeo's Pizza's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Romeo's Pizza's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:
- Minimum startup cost of $190,800 — about 32% below the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
- Initial franchise fee of $30,000 — about in line with the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.
Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Romeo's Pizza's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2020: began the window at 32 units; 16 units opened, 10 closed, ending at 35 units. (partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Romeo's Pizza or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Romeo's Pizza for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Romeo's Pizza is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Romeo's Pizza grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Romeo's Pizza can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Romeo's Pizza franchise
Romeo's Pizza is a food & beverage franchisor with 35 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2020, it began the window at 32 units; its filings record 16 unit openings and 10 closures, ending at 35 units (partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Romeo's Pizza Franchise, LLC. The filings indicate financing options are available; terms come from the franchisor, not from us.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The franchise offered is for a Romeo’s Pizza quick service restaurant serving a menu of pizza, submarine sandwiches, chicken wings, and other menu items. The franchisor offers individual unit restaurant franchises and area development franchises for the development of multiple restaurants within a designated territory.
Romeo's Pizza franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Romeo's Pizza franchise cost?
- $190,800 – $640,500 all-in to open, per Romeo's Pizza's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Romeo's Pizza units are there?
- 35 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).