Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening an Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice franchise takes $285,800 – $566,300 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $78,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $78,000 | $78,000 | $78,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $285,800 | $566,300 | $285,800 to $566,300 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $285,800 | $566,300 | $285,800 to $566,300 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 6% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 1% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
See the full Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:
- Minimum startup cost of $285,800 — about in line with the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
- Initial franchise fee of $78,000 — about 2.2× the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.
Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2022: began the window at 1 units; 0 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 2 units. (partial records: 2021 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice franchise
Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice is a food & beverage franchisor with 2 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2022, it began the window at 1 units; its filings record 0 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 2 units (partial records: 2021 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only).
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
We are UHSI FRANCHISE, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company. We offer franchises to qualified individuals and entities to own and operate an Ululani’s Hawaiian Shave Ice franchise under our service marks, trade names, programs, and systems under the name “Ululani’s Hawaiian Shave Ice” and our related trademarks, services and logos (collectively the “Marks”). Our franchisees offer high quality shave ice and related products and services to the public under the Marks and the Ululani’s Hawaiian Shave Ice programs and systems (the "Method of Operation").
Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice franchise: quick answers
- How much does an Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice franchise cost?
- $285,800 – $566,300 all-in to open, per Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice units are there?
- 2 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).