Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

American Deli franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Food & BeverageFDD entity year 2008

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit American Deli's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. American Deli's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening an American Deli franchise takes $295,000 – $551,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $10,000 – $75,000. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for American Deli, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.

American Deli franchise costs and fees

The American Deli all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$10,000 to $75,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$295,000 to $551,000
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$295,000 to $551,000
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means American Deli's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full American Deli cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How American Deli's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where American Deli's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $295,000 — about in line with the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
  • Initial franchise fee of $10,000 — about 71% below the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.

Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises

Get free info about American Deli

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about American Deli + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How American Deli's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2013–2017: began the window at 8 units; 147 units opened, 7 closed, ending at 143 units.

147 units opened and 7 closed between 2013 and 2017.2013: 73 opened2013: 1 closed2014: 23 opened2014: 1 closed2015: 10 opened2015: 2 closed2016: 18 opened2016: 1 closed2017: 23 opened2017: 2 closed
96.7%
of units at risk 2015–2017 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. American Deli began the window at 8 units. 147 units opened and 7 closed between 2013 and 2017.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for American Deli or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask American Deli for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether American Deli is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether American Deli grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only American Deli can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the American Deli franchise

American Deli is a food & beverage franchisor with 143 units at the end of 2017 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2013 and 2017, it began the window at 8 units; its filings record 147 unit openings and 7 closures, ending at 143 units. Its parent company is American Deli International, Inc..

Litigation history not in our data for American Deli — FDD Item 3 is the primary source to check directly.

From the franchisor's materials

The franchises offered are for the establishment and operation of quick service restaurants that feature chicken wings, phillycheese steak and other sandwiches, other freshly prepared, grilled or fried items, beverage items and promotional items ("Restaurants").

Excerpted from American Deli's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

American Deli franchise: quick answers

How much does an American Deli franchise cost?
$295,000 – $551,000 all-in to open, per American Deli's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many American Deli units are there?
143 units at the end of 2017 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have American Deli's units held up?
96.7% of units at risk between 2015 and 2017 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).