Black Diamond franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Black Diamond franchise takes $73,900 – $197,500 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $27,000 – $62,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Black Diamond franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $27,000 | $62,000 | $27,000 to $62,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $73,900 | $197,500 | $73,900 to $197,500 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $73,900 | $197,500 | $73,900 to $197,500 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Black Diamond's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full Black Diamond cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Black Diamond's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Black Diamond's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $73,900 — about in line with the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $27,000 — about 32% below the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Black Diamond's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2015–2021: began the window at 0 units; 3 units opened, 2 closed, ending at 6 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Black Diamond or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Black Diamond for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Black Diamond is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Black Diamond grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Black Diamond can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Black Diamond franchise
Black Diamond is a professional services franchisor with 6 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2015 and 2021, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 3 unit openings and 2 closures, ending at 6 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Black Diamond Termite and Pest Control Inc..
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The Franchisor is Black Diamond Franchising Inc (hereinafter referred to as "Black Diamond", "Black Diamond", "we", or "us"). We develop, operate, and franchise termite and pest control services.
Black Diamond franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Black Diamond franchise cost?
- $73,900 – $197,500 all-in to open, per Black Diamond's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Black Diamond units are there?
- 6 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Black Diamond's units held up?
- 75% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).