Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Brain-O-Magic franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Professional ServicesFDD entity year 2011

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Brain-O-Magic's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Brain-O-Magic franchise takes $43,901 – $116,701 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $10,500 – $17,500. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 14% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. To qualify, Brain-O-Magic asks for $50,000 in liquid cash. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Brain-O-Magic franchise costs and fees

The Brain-O-Magic all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$10,500 to $17,500
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$43,901 to $116,701
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$50,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$43,901 to $116,701
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Brain-O-Magic's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales14%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 2%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement5 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Brain-O-Magic cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Brain-O-Magic's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Brain-O-Magic's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $43,901 — about 48% below the Professional Services median of $84,700.
  • Initial franchise fee of $10,500 — about 74% below the Professional Services median of $39,700.

Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises

Get free info about Brain-O-Magic

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Brain-O-Magic + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Brain-O-Magic's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2016: began the window at 0 units; 4 units opened, 1 closed, ending at 3 units.

4 units opened and 1 closed between 2012 and 2016.2012: 1 opened2013: 2 opened2014: 1 opened2015: 1 closed
75%
of units at risk 2014–2016 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Brain-O-Magic began the window at 0 units. 4 units opened and 1 closed between 2012 and 2016.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Brain-O-Magic or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Brain-O-Magic for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Brain-O-Magic is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Brain-O-Magic grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Brain-O-Magic can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Brain-O-Magic franchise

Brain-O-Magic is a professional services franchisor with 3 units at the end of 2016 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2016, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 4 unit openings and 1 closures, ending at 3 units. Its parent company is Brain-O-Magic Group, LLC.

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

At "Brain-O-Magic" we use both hands while using the abacus. We believe that this promotes whole brain development by stimulating both sides of the brain. By learning to perform mental calculations quickly and accurately, students ages 5-13 expand their mental capacity and develop skills such as multitasking, time management, memory, concentration and problem solving – skills that are crucial to success in all areas of study and in daily life.

Excerpted from Brain-O-Magic's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Brain-O-Magic franchise: quick answers

How much does a Brain-O-Magic franchise cost?
$43,901 – $116,701 all-in to open, per Brain-O-Magic's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Brain-O-Magic units are there?
3 units at the end of 2016 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Brain-O-Magic's units held up?
75% of units at risk between 2014 and 2016 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).