BW Premier Collection franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a BW Premier Collection franchise takes $613,765 – $6,890,025 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $33,300 – $48,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 5%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
BW Premier Collection franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $33,300 | $48,000 | $33,300 to $48,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $613,765 | $6,890,025 | $613,765 to $6,890,025 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $613,765 | $6,890,025 | $613,765 to $6,890,025 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means BW Premier Collection's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 5% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 15 years |
See the full BW Premier Collection cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How BW Premier Collection's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where BW Premier Collection's disclosed cost sits against the Lodging & Leisure category:
- Minimum startup cost of $613,765 — about 90% below the Lodging & Leisure median of $6,130,275.
- Initial franchise fee of $33,300 — about 48% below the Lodging & Leisure median of $63,600.
Category medians are computed from the Lodging & Leisure brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Lodging & Leisure franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How BW Premier Collection's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2021: began the window at 23 units; 12 units opened, 8 closed, ending at 27 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for BW Premier Collection or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask BW Premier Collection for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether BW Premier Collection is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether BW Premier Collection grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only BW Premier Collection can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the BW Premier Collection franchise
BW Premier Collection is a lodging & leisure franchisor with 27 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2021, it began the window at 23 units; its filings record 12 unit openings and 8 closures, ending at 27 units.
Disclosure filings report 14 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
The franchised business being offered is a hotel operating under the BW Premier Collection® name, converting an existing hotel to an upscale hotel that is included on Best Western International, Inc.’s reservations system and provides unique travel experiences.
BW Premier Collection franchise: quick answers
- How much does a BW Premier Collection franchise cost?
- $613,765 – $6,890,025 all-in to open, per BW Premier Collection's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many BW Premier Collection units are there?
- 27 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have BW Premier Collection's units held up?
- 77.1% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).