Certa ProPainters franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Certa ProPainters franchise takes $147,750 – $4,289,700 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is not disclosed in the filings we cover. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Certa ProPainters, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.
Certa ProPainters franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $147,750 | $4,289,700 | $147,750 to $4,289,700 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $147,750 | $4,289,700 | $147,750 to $4,289,700 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Certa ProPainters's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full Certa ProPainters cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Certa ProPainters's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Certa ProPainters's disclosed cost sits against the Home Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $147,750 — about 1.3× the Home Services median of $116,350.
Category medians are computed from the Home Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Home Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Certa ProPainters's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2020: began the window at 333 units; 32 units opened, 23 closed, ending at 342 units.
Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Certa ProPainters or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Certa ProPainters for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Certa ProPainters is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Certa ProPainters grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Certa ProPainters can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Certa ProPainters franchise
Certa ProPainters is a home services franchisor with 342 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2020, it began the window at 333 units; its filings record 32 unit openings and 23 closures, ending at 342 units. Its parent company is Aerus LLC.
Disclosure filings report 1 franchise-related lawsuit. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
CertaPro Painters is a leading franchise in the painting industry, offering a wide range of residential and commercial painting services while emphasizing customer satisfaction and quality workmanship. Founded in 1991, the franchise supports entrepreneurs with a comprehensive business model, extensive training, and a commitment to environmentally friendly practices.
Certa ProPainters franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Certa ProPainters franchise cost?
- $147,750 – $4,289,700 all-in to open, per Certa ProPainters's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Certa ProPainters units are there?
- 342 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).