Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Chick-fil-A (Operator) franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Food & BeverageFDD entity year 1946

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Chick-fil-A (Operator)'s franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Chick-fil-A (Operator) franchise takes $426,735 – $2,339,525 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $10,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 15% on sales. To qualify, Chick-fil-A (Operator) asks for $10,000 in liquid cash. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Chick-fil-A's $10,000 fee buys a role, not a business. Chick-fil-A selects the Operator, then funds and owns the restaurant itself — real estate, building, and equipment stay with the company, and the Operator runs that single location.

The 15% figure above is the base service fee on gross sales; Operators also pay an additional fee equal to 50% of the restaurant's net operating profit. Operators build no equity — the business cannot be sold, transferred, or passed to family.

Selection, not money, is the real barrier: Chick-fil-A reports tens of thousands of applications a year for roughly 100 or fewer new Operator openings, and states the $10,000 must be non-gifted, non-borrowed funds.

Editorially reviewed 2026-07-07 (APEX editorial lane) — sources: chick-fil-a.com · qsr.pro · vetmyfranchise.com · franinspect.com

Chick-fil-A (Operator) franchise costs and fees

The Chick-fil-A (Operator) all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$10,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$426,735 to $2,339,525
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$10,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$426,735 to $2,339,525
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Chick-fil-A (Operator)'s filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales15%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Chick-fil-A (Operator) cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Chick-fil-A (Operator)'s cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Chick-fil-A (Operator)'s disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $426,735 — about 1.5× the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
  • Initial franchise fee of $10,000 — about 71% below the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.

Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises

Get free info about Chick-fil-A (Operator)

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Chick-fil-A (Operator) + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Chick-fil-A (Operator)'s units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 1,546 units; 1,936 units opened, 153 closed, ending at 2,338 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

1,936 units opened and 153 closed between 2012 and 2022.2012: 168 opened2012: 15 closed2013: 179 opened2013: 22 closed2014: 194 opened2014: 12 closed2015: 193 opened2015: 18 closed2016: 193 opened2016: 9 closed2017: 209 opened2017: 17 closed2019: 215 opened2019: 14 closed2020: 167 opened2020: 9 closed2021: 205 opened2021: 23 closed2022: 213 opened2022: 14 closed
98.3%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Chick-fil-A (Operator) began the window at 1,546 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 1,936 units opened and 153 closed between 2012 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Chick-fil-A (Operator) or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Chick-fil-A (Operator) for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Chick-fil-A (Operator) is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Chick-fil-A (Operator) grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Chick-fil-A (Operator) can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Chick-fil-A (Operator) franchise

Chick-fil-A (Operator) is a food & beverage franchisor with 2,338 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 1,546 units; its filings record 1,936 unit openings and 153 closures, ending at 2,338 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only).

Disclosure filings report 2 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

The franchised business being offered is Chick-fil-A. It is the development of a system of retail quick-service restaurants specializing in a boneless breast of chicken sandwich.

Excerpted from Chick-fil-A (Operator)'s own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Chick-fil-A (Operator) franchise: quick answers

How much does a Chick-fil-A (Operator) franchise cost?
$426,735 – $2,339,525 all-in to open, per Chick-fil-A (Operator)'s franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Chick-fil-A (Operator) units are there?
2,338 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Chick-fil-A (Operator)'s units held up?
98.3% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).
Is Chick-fil-A a franchise?
Technically yes, but not in the usual sense. Chick-fil-A uses a selected-Operator model: instead of selling you a business, the company chooses an Operator, then funds, builds, and owns the restaurant — real estate, building, and equipment all stay with Chick-fil-A. You pay a $10,000 fee to run one location, not to buy an asset you own.
Why is a Chick-fil-A franchise only $10,000?
Because the $10,000 buys a role, not a business. Chick-fil-A itself pays for the land, building, and equipment — frequently well over a million dollars — and keeps ownership of all of it. The low fee reflects that an Operator runs Chick-fil-A's restaurant rather than buying their own; the company earns its investment back through the ongoing fees, not the entry price.
Do you own the building and land with a Chick-fil-A?
No. Chick-fil-A owns or controls the real estate, the building, and the equipment for its US restaurants, and the Operator runs that one location without holding title to any of it. You build no equity in the property or the business — the single biggest difference from a conventional franchise, where the franchisee usually owns the operating business and often the build-out.
Can you own more than one Chick-fil-A?
Almost never. Chick-fil-A selects an Operator for a single restaurant and expects full-time, hands-on involvement in that location, so it is not a multi-unit model you buy into. A very small number of Operators run more than one restaurant, but that is by Chick-fil-A's invitation — not something an applicant can choose or purchase.
Can you sell a Chick-fil-A or pass it to your family?
No. Because the Operator builds no equity, a Chick-fil-A cannot be sold, transferred, or passed to family. When an Operator leaves, the restaurant returns to Chick-fil-A, which selects a new Operator. That is the opposite of most franchises, where the franchisee owns a sellable, inheritable business asset.
How do you become a Chick-fil-A Operator?
You apply through Chick-fil-A's Operator selection process — you do not buy in. It is a multi-stage evaluation of the person, not a purchase, and the $10,000 must come from your own funds, neither borrowed nor gifted. Selection, not money, is the real barrier: Chick-fil-A reports tens of thousands of applications a year for roughly 100 or fewer new Operator openings.
How hard is it to get selected as a Chick-fil-A Operator?
Very. Chick-fil-A reports receiving tens of thousands of Operator applications each year and opening roughly 100 or fewer new Operator positions — an acceptance rate far below most competitive universities. It screens for full-time, hands-on operators who will run one restaurant themselves, which is why capital alone does not get you in.