Computer Troubleshooters franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Computer Troubleshooters franchise takes $19,500 – $45,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $14,000 – $24,000. To qualify, Computer Troubleshooters asks for $7,000 in liquid cash and a $20,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Computer Troubleshooters franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $14,000 | $24,000 | $14,000 to $24,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $19,500 | $45,000 | $19,500 to $45,000 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $20,000 | $20,000 | $20,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $7,000 | $7,000 | $7,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $19,500 | $45,000 | $19,500 to $45,000 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full Computer Troubleshooters cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Computer Troubleshooters's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Computer Troubleshooters's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $19,500 — about 77% below the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $14,000 — about 65% below the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Computer Troubleshooters's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 169 units; 53 units opened, 169 closed, ending at 110 units. (partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Computer Troubleshooters or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Computer Troubleshooters for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Computer Troubleshooters is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Computer Troubleshooters grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Computer Troubleshooters can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Computer Troubleshooters franchise
Computer Troubleshooters is a professional services franchisor with 110 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 169 units; its filings record 53 unit openings and 169 closures, ending at 110 units (partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Computer Troubleshooters USA, Inc.. The filings indicate financing options are available; terms come from the franchisor, not from us.
Disclosure filings report 28 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
Computer Troubleshooters USA, Inc. offers technology services to primarily commercial customers and consumers from a home office or commercial office location approved in writing by the franchisor.
Computer Troubleshooters franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Computer Troubleshooters franchise cost?
- $19,500 – $45,000 all-in to open, per Computer Troubleshooters's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Computer Troubleshooters units are there?
- 110 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Computer Troubleshooters's units held up?
- 70% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).