DEFY franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a DEFY franchise takes $2,650,700 – $4,207,600 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is not disclosed in the filings we cover. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for DEFY, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.
DEFY franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $2,650,700 | $4,207,600 | $2,650,700 to $4,207,600 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $2,650,700 | $4,207,600 | $2,650,700 to $4,207,600 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means DEFY's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full DEFY cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How DEFY's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where DEFY's disclosed cost sits against the Entertainment & Recreation category:
- Minimum startup cost of $2,650,700 — about 1.8× the Entertainment & Recreation median of $1,498,565.
Category medians are computed from the Entertainment & Recreation brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Entertainment & Recreation franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How DEFY's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2021: began the window at 1 units; 4 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 5 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for DEFY or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask DEFY for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether DEFY is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether DEFY grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only DEFY can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the DEFY franchise
DEFY is an entertainment & recreation franchisor with 5 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2021, it began the window at 1 units; its filings record 4 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 5 units. Its parent company is Rockin Jump Holdings, LLC.
Disclosure filings report 1 franchise-related lawsuit. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
DEFY is a franchise that offers a thrilling experience centered around extreme sports, featuring attractions like trampolines, obstacle courses, and climbing walls for all ages. It provides a fun and safe environment for physical activity, socializing, and events, while emphasizing safety and versatility in entertainment.
DEFY franchise: quick answers
- How much does a DEFY franchise cost?
- $2,650,700 – $4,207,600 all-in to open, per DEFY's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many DEFY units are there?
- 5 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have DEFY's units held up?
- 100% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).