Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Diesel Barbershop franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Health & FitnessFDD entity year 2017

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Diesel Barbershop's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Diesel Barbershop franchise takes $346,700 – $449,700 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $50,300 – $63,300. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 8% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Diesel Barbershop franchise costs and fees

The Diesel Barbershop all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$50,300 to $63,300
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$346,700 to $449,700
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$346,700 to $449,700
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Diesel Barbershop's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales8%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 1%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement20 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Diesel Barbershop cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Diesel Barbershop's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Diesel Barbershop's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $346,700 — about 1.9× the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
  • Initial franchise fee of $50,300 — about in line with the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.

Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises

Get free info about Diesel Barbershop

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Diesel Barbershop + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Diesel Barbershop's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2022: began the window at 0 units; 33 units opened, 16 closed, ending at 25 units.

33 units opened and 16 closed between 2019 and 2022.2019: 14 opened2020: 11 opened2020: 8 closed2021: 7 opened2021: 8 closed2022: 1 opened
51.5%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Diesel Barbershop began the window at 0 units. 33 units opened and 16 closed between 2019 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Diesel Barbershop or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Diesel Barbershop for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Diesel Barbershop is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Diesel Barbershop grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Diesel Barbershop can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Diesel Barbershop franchise

Diesel Barbershop is a health & fitness franchisor with 25 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2022, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 33 unit openings and 16 closures, ending at 25 units. Its parent company is Diesel Barbershop Franchising, LLC.

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

According to this 2017 Forbes article, barbering is the fastest-growing profession in the U.S. with a rough growth estimation of 10% – on par with the number of licensed barbers in the past two years. Revenues for barbershops are expected to reach $867 million in 2018 and up to $910 million by 2020. A 2017 U.S. Market Research Report estimates that 152,284 people were employed by barbershops in 2017.

Excerpted from Diesel Barbershop's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Diesel Barbershop franchise: quick answers

How much does a Diesel Barbershop franchise cost?
$346,700 – $449,700 all-in to open, per Diesel Barbershop's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Diesel Barbershop units are there?
25 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Diesel Barbershop's units held up?
51.5% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).