Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

RetailFDD entity year 2016

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs franchise takes $172,500 – $399,500 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $22,500. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 7% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs franchise costs and fees

The DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$22,500
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$172,500 to $399,500
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$172,500 to $399,500
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales7%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 2%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $172,500 — about in line with the Retail median of $165,000.
  • Initial franchise fee of $22,500 — about 39% below the Retail median of $36,750.

Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises

Get free info about DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2022: began the window at 4 units; 46 units opened, 16 closed, ending at 46 units.

46 units opened and 16 closed between 2019 and 2022.2019: 9 opened2019: 4 closed2020: 10 opened2020: 5 closed2021: 6 opened2022: 21 opened2022: 7 closed
81.8%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs began the window at 4 units. 46 units opened and 16 closed between 2019 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs franchise

DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs is a retail franchisor with 46 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2022, it began the window at 4 units; its filings record 46 unit openings and 16 closures, ending at 46 units.

Disclosure filings report 2 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

The franchise we offer is the operation of a business for the installation, maintenance and repair of cell phones, computers, tablets, and smart home hardware and other electronic devices, and the sale of specified electronic devices, accessories and other supplies and items that we may designate from time to time under the trade name Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs Powered by DrPhoneFix. We may offer in limited markets, the option to add a Techy Mobile Van or Techy Cafe to our single store franchise.

Excerpted from DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs franchise: quick answers

How much does a DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs franchise cost?
$172,500 – $399,500 all-in to open, per DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs units are there?
46 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs's units held up?
81.8% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).