Epcon Communities franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening an Epcon Communities franchise takes $3,373,725 – $5,054,640 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $80,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 2% on sales. To qualify, Epcon Communities asks for $500,000 in liquid cash and a $1,500,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Epcon Communities franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $80,000 | $80,000 | $80,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $3,373,725 | $5,054,640 | $3,373,725 to $5,054,640 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $1,500,000 | $1,500,000 | $1,500,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $500,000 | $500,000 | $500,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $3,373,725 | $5,054,640 | $3,373,725 to $5,054,640 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 2% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
See the full Epcon Communities cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Epcon Communities's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Epcon Communities's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $3,373,725 — about 40× the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $80,000 — about 2× the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Epcon Communities's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 97 units; 96 units opened, 51 closed, ending at 70 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Epcon Communities or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Epcon Communities for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Epcon Communities is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Epcon Communities grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Epcon Communities can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Epcon Communities franchise
Epcon Communities is a professional services franchisor with 70 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 97 units; its filings record 96 unit openings and 51 closures, ending at 70 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Epcon Communities Franchising, Inc..
Disclosure filings report 3 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
Epcon Communities Franchising Inc unique development system provides use of intellectual property and guidance for the development construction and marketing of a residential care-free living community using unique architectural designs.
Epcon Communities franchise: quick answers
- How much does an Epcon Communities franchise cost?
- $3,373,725 – $5,054,640 all-in to open, per Epcon Communities's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Epcon Communities units are there?
- 70 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Epcon Communities's units held up?
- 90.8% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).