Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Five Star Painting franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Professional ServicesSBA-eligibleFDD entity year 2016

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Five Star Painting's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Five Star Painting franchise takes $77,765 – $184,845 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $46,880. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. To qualify, Five Star Painting asks for $70,000 in liquid cash. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Five Star Painting franchise costs and fees

The Five Star Painting all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$46,880
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$77,765 to $184,845
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$70,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$77,765 to $184,845
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Five Star Painting's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales6%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 2%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Five Star Painting cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Five Star Painting's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Five Star Painting's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $77,765 — about in line with the Professional Services median of $84,700.
  • Initial franchise fee of $46,880 — about 1.2× the Professional Services median of $39,700.

Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises

Get free info about Five Star Painting

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Five Star Painting + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Five Star Painting's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2021: began the window at 57 units; 283 units opened, 159 closed, ending at 225 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

283 units opened and 159 closed between 2012 and 2021.2012: 13 opened2012: 8 closed2013: 19 opened2013: 10 closed2014: 51 opened2014: 11 closed2015: 37 opened2015: 37 closed2016: 34 opened2016: 41 closed2017: 37 opened2017: 11 closed2019: 38 opened2019: 15 closed2020: 33 opened2020: 15 closed2021: 21 opened2021: 11 closed
84.8%
of units at risk 2019–2021 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Five Star Painting began the window at 57 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 283 units opened and 159 closed between 2012 and 2021.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Five Star Painting or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Five Star Painting for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Five Star Painting is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Five Star Painting grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Five Star Painting can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Five Star Painting franchise

Five Star Painting is a professional services franchisor with 225 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2021, it began the window at 57 units; its filings record 283 unit openings and 159 closures, ending at 225 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Neighborly.

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

As a franchisee you will perform professional painting services for both residential and commercial customers and other related services and products

Excerpted from Five Star Painting's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Five Star Painting franchise: quick answers

How much does a Five Star Painting franchise cost?
$77,765 – $184,845 all-in to open, per Five Star Painting's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Five Star Painting units are there?
225 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Five Star Painting's units held up?
84.8% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).
Is Five Star Painting SBA-eligible?
Five Star Painting is flagged SBA-eligible in our dataset (as of 2026-05). Confirm current status on the SBA Franchise Directory before relying on it for financing.