Floor-Tek franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Floor-Tek franchise takes Up to $37,685 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $1,000 – $10,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 20% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. To qualify, Floor-Tek asks for $1,000 in liquid cash. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Floor-Tek franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $1,000 | $10,000 | $1,000 to $10,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | n/d | $37,685 | Up to $37,685 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $1,000 | $1,000 | $1,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | n/d | $37,685 | Up to $37,685 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Floor-Tek's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 20% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 2% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 20 years |
See the full Floor-Tek cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Floor-Tek's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Floor-Tek's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Initial franchise fee of $1,000 — about 97% below the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Floor-Tek's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2020: began the window at 11 units; 9 units opened, 5 closed, ending at 10 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Floor-Tek or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Floor-Tek for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Floor-Tek is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Floor-Tek grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Floor-Tek can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Floor-Tek franchise
Floor-Tek is a professional services franchisor with 10 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2020, it began the window at 11 units; its filings record 9 unit openings and 5 closures, ending at 10 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is FT Franchising, Inc..
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
We have Offered franchises in the commercial floor maintenance and sanitorial services industry since 1990. We do not Offer franchises in other lines of business.
Floor-Tek franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Floor-Tek franchise cost?
- Up to $37,685 all-in to open, per Floor-Tek's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Floor-Tek units are there?
- 10 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Floor-Tek's units held up?
- 72.2% of units at risk between 2017 and 2020 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).