Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Game Kastle franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

RetailFDD entity year 2017

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Game Kastle's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Game Kastle franchise takes $185,000 – $597,500 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $45,000 – $72,500. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Game Kastle franchise costs and fees

The Game Kastle all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$45,000 to $72,500
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$185,000 to $597,500
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$185,000 to $597,500
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Game Kastle's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales5%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 1%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Game Kastle cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Game Kastle's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Game Kastle's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $185,000 — about in line with the Retail median of $165,000.
  • Initial franchise fee of $45,000 — about 1.2× the Retail median of $36,750.

Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises

Get free info about Game Kastle

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Game Kastle + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Game Kastle's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2020: began the window at 0 units; 4 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 4 units.

4 units opened and 0 closed between 2019 and 2020.2019: 2 opened2020: 2 opened
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Game Kastle began the window at 0 units. 4 units opened and 0 closed between 2019 and 2020.How we compute this

Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Game Kastle or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Game Kastle for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Game Kastle is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Game Kastle grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Game Kastle can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Game Kastle franchise

Game Kastle is a retail franchisor with 4 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2020, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 4 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 4 units. Its parent company is Game Kastle Universe, LLC.

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

We offer the opportunity to establish and operate a Game Kastle store franchise at a single defined location within a specific territory. Our franchised stores are retailers of premier hobby and gaming products, including a wide array of card games, RPG (role playing games), board and tabletop games, miniatures, collectibles, paints, and other related products in a clean, fun, and family friendly environment, with equally friendly staff. Our style, procedures and techniques include a distinctive interior design and color scheme; uniform standards, specifications and operating procedures; and high quality games and other products, items, and services, all of which we may improve, further develop or otherwise modify from time to time. We also may offer qualified applicants an opportunity to develop and open a specified number of GAME KASTLE game store franchises within a defined geographical area over a required period of time. (See Exhibit “H”.) In that event, you would pay a development fee which will depend upon the number of GAME KASTLE stores required to be open. (See Item 5)

Excerpted from Game Kastle's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Game Kastle franchise: quick answers

How much does a Game Kastle franchise cost?
$185,000 – $597,500 all-in to open, per Game Kastle's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Game Kastle units are there?
4 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).