Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

GOLF ETC. franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Health & FitnessFDD entity year 1994

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit GOLF ETC.'s franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a GOLF ETC. franchise takes $325,000 – $451,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $30,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 3% on sales. To qualify, GOLF ETC. asks for $75,000 in liquid cash. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

GOLF ETC. franchise costs and fees

The GOLF ETC. all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$30,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$325,000 to $451,000
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$75,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$325,000 to $451,000
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means GOLF ETC.'s filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales3%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full GOLF ETC. cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How GOLF ETC.'s cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where GOLF ETC.'s disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $325,000 — about 1.8× the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
  • Initial franchise fee of $30,000 — about 39% below the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.

Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises

Get free info about GOLF ETC.

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about GOLF ETC. + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How GOLF ETC.'s units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2012: began the window at 32 units; 5 units opened, 2 closed, ending at 35 units.

5 units opened and 2 closed between 2012 and 2012.2012: 5 opened2012: 2 closed
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. GOLF ETC. began the window at 32 units. 5 units opened and 2 closed between 2012 and 2012.How we compute this

Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for GOLF ETC. or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask GOLF ETC. for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether GOLF ETC. is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether GOLF ETC. grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only GOLF ETC. can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the GOLF ETC. franchise

GOLF ETC. is a health & fitness franchisor with 35 units at the end of 2012 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2012, it began the window at 32 units; its filings record 5 unit openings and 2 closures, ending at 35 units. Its parent company is Golf Etc. of America Inc..

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

Since it's inception, Texas-based GOLF ETC. has established itself as a leader in the golf industry – an industry that has experienced unprecedented growth (from $8 billion in 1986 to $23 billion present). With over 35 nation-wide, GOLF ETC. is looking to expand in your area in 2013.

Excerpted from GOLF ETC.'s own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

GOLF ETC. franchise: quick answers

How much does a GOLF ETC. franchise cost?
$325,000 – $451,000 all-in to open, per GOLF ETC.'s franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many GOLF ETC. units are there?
35 units at the end of 2012 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).