Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Health & FitnessFDD entity year 2005

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa franchise takes $603,195 – $759,755 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $51,000 – $68,000. To qualify, Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa asks for $250,000 in liquid cash and a $500,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa franchise costs and fees

The Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$51,000 to $68,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$603,195 to $759,755
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$500,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$250,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$603,195 to $759,755
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $603,195 — about 3.3× the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
  • Initial franchise fee of $51,000 — about in line with the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.

Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises

Get free info about Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 62 units; 409 units opened, 15 closed, ending at 487 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

409 units opened and 15 closed between 2012 and 2022.2012: 29 opened2012: 3 closed2013: 44 opened2014: 49 opened2014: 1 closed2015: 60 opened2015: 1 closed2016: 47 opened2016: 2 closed2017: 44 opened2019: 51 opened2020: 28 opened2020: 2 closed2021: 22 opened2022: 35 opened2022: 6 closed
98.4%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa began the window at 62 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 409 units opened and 15 closed between 2012 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa franchise

Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa is a health & fitness franchisor with 487 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 62 units; its filings record 409 unit openings and 15 closures, ending at 487 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Hand and Stone Franchise Corp.. The filings indicate financing options are available; terms come from the franchisor, not from us.

Disclosure filings report 1 franchise-related lawsuit. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

The franchise offered is for the operation of massage, facial, waxing services, and the sale of related retail products under the name Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa. They offer their services to the general public in a member and non-member program.

Excerpted from Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa franchise: quick answers

How much does a Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa franchise cost?
$603,195 – $759,755 all-in to open, per Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa units are there?
487 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Hand and Stone Massage and Facial Spa's units held up?
98.4% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).