Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Harcourts franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Professional ServicesFDD entity year 2010

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Harcourts's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Harcourts franchise takes $151,000 – $360,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $25,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Harcourts franchise costs and fees

The Harcourts all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$25,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$151,000 to $360,000
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$151,000 to $360,000
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Harcourts's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales6%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 1%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement5 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Harcourts cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Harcourts's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Harcourts's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $151,000 — about 1.8× the Professional Services median of $84,700.
  • Initial franchise fee of $25,000 — about 37% below the Professional Services median of $39,700.

Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises

Get free info about Harcourts

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Harcourts + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Harcourts's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2020: began the window at 17 units; 30 units opened, 39 closed, ending at 19 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

30 units opened and 39 closed between 2012 and 2020.2012: 2 opened2012: 8 closed2013: 8 opened2014: 5 closed2015: 8 opened2015: 7 closed2016: 5 opened2016: 5 closed2017: 5 opened2017: 3 closed2019: 1 opened2019: 5 closed2020: 1 opened2020: 6 closed
60%
of units at risk 2017–2020 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Harcourts began the window at 17 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 30 units opened and 39 closed between 2012 and 2020.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Harcourts or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Harcourts for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Harcourts is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Harcourts grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Harcourts can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Harcourts franchise

Harcourts is a professional services franchisor with 19 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2020, it began the window at 17 units; its filings record 30 unit openings and 39 closures, ending at 19 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Harcourts Pacific LLC.

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

Harcourts real estate brokerages are fullyintegrated real estate offices, focusing Upon technology, traihihg, marketing, and communication. The unique aspects of Harcourts real estate brokerage offices include the nonexclusive Use of a wofidwide brand, proprietary marketing and promotional materials, a training, program offered through Harcourts Academy (training center), and a global referral'system., The real estate brokerage business is a competitive business. There are many factors that go into the success of any business, which include but are not lifnited to, the market and your management abilities. Currently, due to market conditions, there may be large amounts of unsold home inventory, fierce competition for real estate agents by other brokerages, and decreasing pressure On home prices. YoU should besaware of thecyclic nature of the real estate industry, Harcourts cannot,guaranty you, success, but offers you a wide variety of marketing and promotional materials, as well as training and technology to assist in positioning you to Operate your real estate; brokerage office as effectively as possible. While Harcourts has been selling franchises since 2010 in California, Hawaii and Nevada, Its affiliates have done so since April of 1989

Excerpted from Harcourts's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Harcourts franchise: quick answers

How much does a Harcourts franchise cost?
$151,000 – $360,000 all-in to open, per Harcourts's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Harcourts units are there?
19 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Harcourts's units held up?
60% of units at risk between 2017 and 2020 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).