iTAN Sun Spray Spa franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening an iTAN Sun Spray Spa franchise takes $326,000 – $650,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $24,150 – $46,700. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for iTAN Sun Spray Spa, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.
iTAN Sun Spray Spa franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $24,150 | $46,700 | $24,150 to $46,700 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $326,000 | $650,000 | $326,000 to $650,000 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $326,000 | $650,000 | $326,000 to $650,000 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means iTAN Sun Spray Spa's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full iTAN Sun Spray Spa cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How iTAN Sun Spray Spa's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where iTAN Sun Spray Spa's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:
- Minimum startup cost of $326,000 — about 1.8× the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
- Initial franchise fee of $24,150 — about 51% below the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.
Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How iTAN Sun Spray Spa's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2019: began the window at 18 units; 5 units opened, 1 closed, ending at 25 units. (partial records: 2016, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for iTAN Sun Spray Spa or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask iTAN Sun Spray Spa for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether iTAN Sun Spray Spa is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether iTAN Sun Spray Spa grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only iTAN Sun Spray Spa can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the iTAN Sun Spray Spa franchise
iTAN Sun Spray Spa is a health & fitness franchisor with 25 units at the end of 2019 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2019, it began the window at 18 units; its filings record 5 unit openings and 1 closures, ending at 25 units (partial records: 2016, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only).
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
We offer a franchise for the operation of a tanning salon (an “iTAN Salon”) that provides UV tanning, spray-on tanning and spa services (which include approved services such as Fit Bodywrap, aqua massage, teeth whitening, salt therapy and photo light therapy) and sells related retail items.
iTAN Sun Spray Spa franchise: quick answers
- How much does an iTAN Sun Spray Spa franchise cost?
- $326,000 – $650,000 all-in to open, per iTAN Sun Spray Spa's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many iTAN Sun Spray Spa units are there?
- 25 units at the end of 2019 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).