Jameson Inn franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Jameson Inn franchise takes $4,814,200 – $8,465,500 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $20,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 4% on sales. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Jameson Inn franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $20,000 | $20,000 | $20,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $4,814,200 | $8,465,500 | $4,814,200 to $8,465,500 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $4,814,200 | $8,465,500 | $4,814,200 to $8,465,500 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Jameson Inn's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 4% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 20 years |
See the full Jameson Inn cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Jameson Inn's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Jameson Inn's disclosed cost sits against the Lodging & Leisure category:
- Minimum startup cost of $4,814,200 — about 21% below the Lodging & Leisure median of $6,130,275.
- Initial franchise fee of $20,000 — about 69% below the Lodging & Leisure median of $63,600.
Category medians are computed from the Lodging & Leisure brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Lodging & Leisure franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Jameson Inn's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2015: began the window at 10 units; 19 units opened, 4 closed, ending at 23 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Jameson Inn or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Jameson Inn for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Jameson Inn is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Jameson Inn grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Jameson Inn can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Jameson Inn franchise
Jameson Inn is a lodging & leisure franchisor with 23 units at the end of 2015 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2015, it began the window at 10 units; its filings record 19 unit openings and 4 closures, ending at 23 units. Its parent company is Red Lion Hotels Franchising, Inc..
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The franchise is for the operation of a midscale or upper midscale lodging facility in the select service segment, under the trademark Jameson Inn® and certain other proprietary marks.
Jameson Inn franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Jameson Inn franchise cost?
- $4,814,200 – $8,465,500 all-in to open, per Jameson Inn's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Jameson Inn units are there?
- 23 units at the end of 2015 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Jameson Inn's units held up?
- 86.2% of units at risk between 2013 and 2015 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).