Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Home ServicesFDD entity year 1995

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer)'s franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) franchise takes $130,000 – $421,500 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $50,000 – $250,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 4% on sales. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) franchise costs and fees

The Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$50,000 to $250,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$130,000 to $421,500
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$130,000 to $421,500
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer)'s filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales4%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer)'s cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer)'s disclosed cost sits against the Home Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $130,000 — about in line with the Home Services median of $116,350.
  • Initial franchise fee of $50,000 — about in line with the Home Services median of $54,450.

Category medians are computed from the Home Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Home Services franchises

Get free info about Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer)

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer)'s units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2015–2021: began the window at 6,634 units; 2,280 units opened, 1,481 closed, ending at 99 units. (partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

2,280 units opened and 1,481 closed between 2015 and 2021.2015: 1057 opened2015: 648 closed2016: 1209 opened2016: 823 closed2019: 8 opened2019: 7 closed2020: 2 opened2020: 2 closed2021: 4 opened2021: 1 closed
86.5%
of units at risk 2019–2021 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) began the window at 6,634 units. Note — partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 2,280 units opened and 1,481 closed between 2015 and 2021.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) franchise

Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) is a home services franchisor with 99 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2015 and 2021, it began the window at 6,634 units; its filings record 2,280 unit openings and 1,481 closures, ending at 99 units (partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Empower Brands Franchising, LLC.

Disclosure filings report 4 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

The franchised business being offered is a JAN-PRO Franchise Development regional developer franchise that sells and supports unit franchises. These unit franchises operate janitorial and building maintenance service businesses under the name 'JAN-PRO Cleaning & Disinfecting™' and perform commercial, industrial, and institutional cleaning, maintenance, disinfection, sanitization, and related services.

Excerpted from Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer)'s own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) franchise: quick answers

How much does a Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) franchise cost?
$130,000 – $421,500 all-in to open, per Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer)'s franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer) units are there?
99 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting (Regional Developer)'s units held up?
86.5% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).