LED Source franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a LED Source franchise takes $40,350 – $113,750 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $21,000 – $32,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
LED Source franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $21,000 | $32,000 | $21,000 to $32,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $40,350 | $113,750 | $40,350 to $113,750 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $40,350 | $113,750 | $40,350 to $113,750 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means LED Source's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 2% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 10 years |
See the full LED Source cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How LED Source's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where LED Source's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:
- Minimum startup cost of $40,350 — about 76% below the Retail median of $165,000.
- Initial franchise fee of $21,000 — about 43% below the Retail median of $36,750.
Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How LED Source's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2019: began the window at 7 units; 8 units opened, 3 closed, ending at 5 units. (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for LED Source or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask LED Source for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether LED Source is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether LED Source grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only LED Source can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the LED Source franchise
LED Source is a retail franchisor with 5 units at the end of 2019 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2019, it began the window at 7 units; its filings record 8 unit openings and 3 closures, ending at 5 units (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is LED Lite Holdings, LLC.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
LED Source businesses provide LED technology-based products and services and related products and services to commercial and residential customers (“LED Source Business(es)”).
LED Source franchise: quick answers
- How much does a LED Source franchise cost?
- $40,350 – $113,750 all-in to open, per LED Source's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many LED Source units are there?
- 5 units at the end of 2019 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).