Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Murphy Business & Financial Corporation franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Professional ServicesFDD entity year 2014

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Murphy Business & Financial Corporation's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Murphy Business & Financial Corporation franchise takes $57,590 – $85,900 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $56,920 – $64,900. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 10% on sales. To qualify, Murphy Business & Financial Corporation asks for $65,000 in liquid cash and a $120,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Murphy Business & Financial Corporation franchise costs and fees

The Murphy Business & Financial Corporation all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$56,920 to $64,900
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$57,590 to $85,900
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$120,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$65,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$57,590 to $85,900
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales10%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Murphy Business & Financial Corporation cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Murphy Business & Financial Corporation's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Murphy Business & Financial Corporation's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $57,590 — about 32% below the Professional Services median of $84,700.
  • Initial franchise fee of $56,920 — about 1.4× the Professional Services median of $39,700.

Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises

Get free info about Murphy Business & Financial Corporation

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Murphy Business & Financial Corporation + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Murphy Business & Financial Corporation's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2021: began the window at 124 units; 99 units opened, 63 closed, ending at 129 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

99 units opened and 63 closed between 2012 and 2021.2012: 10 opened2012: 16 closed2013: 11 opened2013: 3 closed2014: 12 opened2014: 5 closed2015: 18 opened2015: 7 closed2016: 9 opened2016: 10 closed2017: 8 opened2017: 9 closed2019: 8 opened2019: 3 closed2020: 11 opened2020: 5 closed2021: 12 opened2021: 5 closed
91.5%
of units at risk 2019–2021 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Murphy Business & Financial Corporation began the window at 124 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 99 units opened and 63 closed between 2012 and 2021.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Murphy Business & Financial Corporation or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Murphy Business & Financial Corporation for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Murphy Business & Financial Corporation is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Murphy Business & Financial Corporation grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Murphy Business & Financial Corporation can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Murphy Business & Financial Corporation franchise

Murphy Business & Financial Corporation is a professional services franchisor with 129 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2021, it began the window at 124 units; its filings record 99 unit openings and 63 closures, ending at 129 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Murphy Business & Financial Corporation LLC.

Disclosure filings report 2 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

We offer franchises for the right to develop and operate a Murphy Business & Financial Corporation Business ("Murphy Business"). They offer business brokerage, business valuations, business consulting, mergers and acquisitions, commercial real estateas part of transactions, franchise resales, machinery and equipment, appraisals and related products and services.

Excerpted from Murphy Business & Financial Corporation's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Murphy Business & Financial Corporation franchise: quick answers

How much does a Murphy Business & Financial Corporation franchise cost?
$57,590 – $85,900 all-in to open, per Murphy Business & Financial Corporation's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Murphy Business & Financial Corporation units are there?
129 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Murphy Business & Financial Corporation's units held up?
91.5% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).