Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Music Go Round franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

RetailFDD entity year 1993

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Music Go Round's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Music Go Round franchise takes $335,300 – $443,700 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $43,800 – $47,700. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 4% on sales. To qualify, Music Go Round asks for $90,000 in liquid cash and a $300,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Music Go Round franchise costs and fees

The Music Go Round all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$43,800 to $47,700
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$335,300 to $443,700
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$300,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$90,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$335,300 to $443,700
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales4%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Music Go Round cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Music Go Round's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Music Go Round's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $335,300 — about 2× the Retail median of $165,000.
  • Initial franchise fee of $43,800 — about 1.2× the Retail median of $36,750.

Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises

Get free info about Music Go Round

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Music Go Round + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Music Go Round's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2021: began the window at 34 units; 13 units opened, 11 closed, ending at 37 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

13 units opened and 11 closed between 2012 and 2021.2012: 1 opened2012: 2 closed2013: 1 opened2013: 5 closed2014: 4 opened2015: 1 opened2015: 1 closed2016: 2 opened2017: 2 closed2019: 4 opened2019: 1 closed
97.4%
of units at risk 2019–2021 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Music Go Round began the window at 34 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 13 units opened and 11 closed between 2012 and 2021.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Music Go Round or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Music Go Round for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Music Go Round is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Music Go Round grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Music Go Round can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Music Go Round franchise

Music Go Round is a retail franchisor with 37 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2021, it began the window at 34 units; its filings record 13 unit openings and 11 closures, ending at 37 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only).

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

The franchised business being offered is Music Go Round retail stores that sell quality used and new musical instruments, speakers, amplifiers, music-related electronics and related accessories.

Excerpted from Music Go Round's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Music Go Round franchise: quick answers

How much does a Music Go Round franchise cost?
$335,300 – $443,700 all-in to open, per Music Go Round's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Music Go Round units are there?
37 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Music Go Round's units held up?
97.4% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).