Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Planet Fitness franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Health & FitnessSBA-eligibleFDD entity year 2018

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Planet Fitness's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Planet Fitness's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Planet Fitness franchise takes $1,504,600 – $5,158,500 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is not disclosed in the filings we cover. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 7% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 9%. To qualify, Planet Fitness asks for $600,000 in liquid cash and a $1,500,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Planet Fitness franchise costs and fees

The Planet Fitness all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signingNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$1,504,600 to $5,158,500
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$1,500,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$600,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$1,504,600 to $5,158,500
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Planet Fitness's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales7%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 9%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Planet Fitness cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Planet Fitness's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Planet Fitness's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $1,504,600 — about 8.1× the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.

Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises

Get free info about Planet Fitness

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Planet Fitness + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Planet Fitness's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 457 units; 1,215 units opened, 18 closed, ending at 2,082 units. (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

1,215 units opened and 18 closed between 2012 and 2022.2012: 108 opened2012: 2 closed2013: 148 opened2013: 6 closed2014: 169 opened2014: 2 closed2015: 201 opened2015: 3 closed2019: 239 opened2019: 1 closed2020: 116 opened2020: 1 closed2021: 116 opened2021: 2 closed2022: 118 opened2022: 1 closed
99.8%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Planet Fitness began the window at 457 units. Note — partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 1,215 units opened and 18 closed between 2012 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Planet Fitness or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Planet Fitness for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Planet Fitness is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Planet Fitness grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Planet Fitness can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Planet Fitness franchise

Planet Fitness is a health & fitness franchisor with 2,082 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 457 units; its filings record 1,215 unit openings and 18 closures, ending at 2,082 units (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only).

Disclosure filings report 15 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

PLANET FITNESS businesses are fitness training facilities offering exercise machines and free weights, fitness training services, tanning services, related services and ancillary goods. We offer for sale PLANET FITNESS franchises for new locations and for existing fitness facilities that want to convert to a PLANET FITNESS.

Excerpted from Planet Fitness's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Planet Fitness franchise: quick answers

How much does a Planet Fitness franchise cost?
$1,504,600 – $5,158,500 all-in to open, per Planet Fitness's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Planet Fitness units are there?
2,082 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Planet Fitness's units held up?
99.8% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).
Is Planet Fitness SBA-eligible?
Planet Fitness is flagged SBA-eligible in our dataset (as of 2026-05). Confirm current status on the SBA Franchise Directory before relying on it for financing.