Renters Warehouse franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Renters Warehouse franchise takes $41,969 – $121,655 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is From $40,000. To qualify, Renters Warehouse asks for $80,000 in liquid cash and a $106,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Renters Warehouse franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $40,000 | n/d | From $40,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $41,969 | $121,655 | $41,969 to $121,655 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $106,000 | $106,000 | $106,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $80,000 | $80,000 | $80,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $41,969 | $121,655 | $41,969 to $121,655 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full Renters Warehouse cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Renters Warehouse's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Renters Warehouse's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $41,969 — about 50% below the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $40,000 — about in line with the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Renters Warehouse's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2015: began the window at 2 units; 27 units opened, 2 closed, ending at 26 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Renters Warehouse or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Renters Warehouse for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Renters Warehouse is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Renters Warehouse grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Renters Warehouse can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Renters Warehouse franchise
Renters Warehouse is a professional services franchisor with 26 units at the end of 2015 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2015, it began the window at 2 units; its filings record 27 unit openings and 2 closures, ending at 26 units. Its parent company is Renters Warehouse USA, LLC.
Litigation history not in our data for Renters Warehouse — FDD Item 3 is the primary source to check directly.
From the franchisor's materials
The franchise offered under this Disclosure Document is for the operation of an existing franchised RENTERS WAREHOUSE business ("Business") that provides property management and tenant placement services to owners and landlords of single family residences, condominiums, townhomes and apartments, as well as services in connection with buying or selling properties.
Renters Warehouse franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Renters Warehouse franchise cost?
- $41,969 – $121,655 all-in to open, per Renters Warehouse's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Renters Warehouse units are there?
- 26 units at the end of 2015 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Renters Warehouse's units held up?
- 96.4% of units at risk between 2013 and 2015 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).