Road Star Driving School franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Road Star Driving School franchise takes $56,200 – $136,100 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $10,000. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Road Star Driving School, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.
Road Star Driving School franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $10,000 | $10,000 | $10,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $56,200 | $136,100 | $56,200 to $136,100 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $56,200 | $136,100 | $56,200 to $136,100 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Road Star Driving School's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full Road Star Driving School cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Road Star Driving School's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Road Star Driving School's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $56,200 — about 34% below the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $10,000 — about 75% below the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Road Star Driving School's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2015–2021: began the window at 0 units; 2 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 10 units. (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Road Star Driving School or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Road Star Driving School for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Road Star Driving School is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Road Star Driving School grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Road Star Driving School can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Road Star Driving School franchise
Road Star Driving School is a professional services franchisor with 10 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2015 and 2021, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 2 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 10 units (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Driving Education Franchising, LLC.
Disclosure filings report 1 franchise-related lawsuit. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
This franchise is offered for a business teaching driver education and offering services associated with teaching driver education.
Road Star Driving School franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Road Star Driving School franchise cost?
- $56,200 – $136,100 all-in to open, per Road Star Driving School's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Road Star Driving School units are there?
- 10 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Road Star Driving School's units held up?
- 100% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).