Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Scenthound franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Scenthound's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Scenthound's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Scenthound franchise takes $318,684 – $499,469 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $100,049 – $112,669. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Scenthound, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.

Scenthound franchise costs and fees

The Scenthound all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$100,049 to $112,669
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$318,684 to $499,469
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$318,684 to $499,469
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Scenthound's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Scenthound cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Scenthound's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Scenthound's disclosed cost sits against the Pet Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $318,684 — about in line with the Pet Services median of $302,583.
  • Initial franchise fee of $100,049 — about 1.7× the Pet Services median of $59,500.

Category medians are computed from the Pet Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Pet Services franchises

Get free info about Scenthound

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Scenthound + 3 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Scenthound's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2020–2022: began the window at 0 units; 34 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 34 units.

34 units opened and 0 closed between 2020 and 2022.2020: 1 opened2021: 17 opened2022: 16 opened
100%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Scenthound began the window at 0 units. 34 units opened and 0 closed between 2020 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Scenthound or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Scenthound for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Scenthound is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Scenthound grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Scenthound can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Scenthound franchise

Scenthound is a pet services franchisor with 34 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2020 and 2022, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 34 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 34 units.

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

Scenthound is a franchise dedicated to dog grooming and wellness services, particularly for hound breeds, emphasizing regular grooming and health checks for a holistic approach to pet care. The franchise offers grooming and wellness services, engages with pet owners through education, and operates on a franchise model to create a positive experience for dogs and their owners.

Excerpted from Scenthound's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Scenthound franchise: quick answers

How much does a Scenthound franchise cost?
$318,684 – $499,469 all-in to open, per Scenthound's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Scenthound units are there?
34 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Scenthound's units held up?
100% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).