Sign Gypsies franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Sign Gypsies franchise takes Up to $9,900 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $3,950. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Sign Gypsies, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.
Sign Gypsies franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $3,950 | $3,950 | $3,950 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | n/d | $9,900 | Up to $9,900 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | n/d | $9,900 | Up to $9,900 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Sign Gypsies's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 1 years |
See the full Sign Gypsies cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Sign Gypsies's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Sign Gypsies's disclosed cost sits against the Event Services category:
- Initial franchise fee of $3,950 — about 78% below the Event Services median of $18,150.
Category medians are computed from the Event Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Event Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Sign Gypsies's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2022: began the window at 11 units; 872 units opened, 69 closed, ending at 754 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Sign Gypsies or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Sign Gypsies for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Sign Gypsies is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Sign Gypsies grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Sign Gypsies can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Sign Gypsies franchise
Sign Gypsies is an event services franchisor with 754 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2022, it began the window at 11 units; its filings record 872 unit openings and 69 closures, ending at 754 units.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
Sign Gypsies is a rapidly growing franchise founded in 2018 that specializes in creating and delivering custom yard signs for celebrations like birthdays and graduations, allowing local franchisees to operate their own businesses with support and training. The franchise has gained popularity for its creative products and the joy it brings to special occasions, making it an appealing option for entrepreneurs in the event services market.
Sign Gypsies franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Sign Gypsies franchise cost?
- Up to $9,900 all-in to open, per Sign Gypsies's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Sign Gypsies units are there?
- 754 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Sign Gypsies's units held up?
- 92.1% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).