Sir Grout franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Sir Grout franchise takes $120,930 – $183,110 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $70,950 – $74,050. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales. To qualify, Sir Grout asks for $75,000 in liquid cash and a $250,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Sir Grout franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $70,950 | $74,050 | $70,950 to $74,050 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $120,930 | $183,110 | $120,930 to $183,110 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $250,000 | $250,000 | $250,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $75,000 | $75,000 | $75,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $120,930 | $183,110 | $120,930 to $183,110 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 6% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 10 years |
See the full Sir Grout cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Sir Grout's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Sir Grout's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $120,930 — about 1.4× the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $70,950 — about 1.8× the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Sir Grout's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 19 units; 41 units opened, 3 closed, ending at 52 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Sir Grout or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Sir Grout for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Sir Grout is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Sir Grout grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Sir Grout can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Sir Grout franchise
Sir Grout is a professional services franchisor with 52 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 19 units; its filings record 41 unit openings and 3 closures, ending at 52 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Sir Grout Franchising LLC. The filings indicate financing options are available; terms come from the franchisor, not from us.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The franchise offered is for the operation of a Sir Grout business, specializing in providing distinctive grout and tile cleaning, sealing, caulking and restoration services as well as other services, including but not limited to slip resistant product application, sand-free wood renewal services, stone restoration services and coating for tile, grout, stone, concrete and metal designed to enhance and protect a business or home’s health and appearance.
Sir Grout franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Sir Grout franchise cost?
- $120,930 – $183,110 all-in to open, per Sir Grout's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Sir Grout units are there?
- 52 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Sir Grout's units held up?
- 100% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).