Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Snap-on franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

RetailFDD entity year 1990

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Snap-on's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Snap-on's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Snap-on franchise takes $217,505 – $481,554 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $145,800 – $163,800. To qualify, Snap-on asks for $35,677 in liquid cash and a $35,677 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Snap-on franchise costs and fees

The Snap-on all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$145,800 to $163,800
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$217,505 to $481,554
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$35,677
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$35,677
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$217,505 to $481,554
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Snap-on cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Snap-on's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Snap-on's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $217,505 — about 1.3× the Retail median of $165,000.
  • Initial franchise fee of $145,800 — about 4× the Retail median of $36,750.

Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises

Get free info about Snap-on

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Snap-on + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Snap-on's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 3,216 units; 2,263 units opened, 20 closed, ending at 3,270 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

2,263 units opened and 20 closed between 2012 and 2022.2012: 269 opened2012: 4 closed2013: 276 opened2013: 2 closed2014: 248 opened2014: 2 closed2015: 271 opened2015: 1 closed2016: 242 opened2016: 3 closed2017: 192 opened2017: 1 closed2019: 193 opened2019: 4 closed2020: 191 opened2020: 2 closed2021: 191 opened2022: 190 opened2022: 1 closed
99.9%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Snap-on began the window at 3,216 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 2,263 units opened and 20 closed between 2012 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Snap-on or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Snap-on for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Snap-on is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Snap-on grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Snap-on can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Snap-on franchise

Snap-on is a retail franchisor with 3,270 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 3,216 units; its filings record 2,263 unit openings and 20 closures, ending at 3,270 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Snap-on Inc..

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

Snap-on Tools Company LLC ("Snap-on") offers a license to operate a franchised mobile store selling high quality repair and diagnostic tools and equipment. Snap-on manufactures and/or distributes these tools and equipment to professional mechanics and other tool users throughout the United States.

Excerpted from Snap-on's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Snap-on franchise: quick answers

How much does a Snap-on franchise cost?
$217,505 – $481,554 all-in to open, per Snap-on's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Snap-on units are there?
3,270 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Snap-on's units held up?
99.9% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).