Sport Lines franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Sport Lines franchise takes $31,300 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $19,500. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Sport Lines, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.
Sport Lines franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $19,500 | $19,500 | $19,500 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $31,300 | $31,300 | $31,300 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $31,300 | $31,300 | $31,300 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Sport Lines's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 6% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
See the full Sport Lines cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Sport Lines's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Sport Lines's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $31,300 — about 63% below the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $19,500 — about 51% below the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Sport Lines or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Sport Lines for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Sport Lines is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Sport Lines grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Sport Lines can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Sport Lines franchise
Sport Lines is a professional services franchisor in our disclosure-filing dataset (as of 2026-05). Its parent company is Sport Lines Franchising, LLC.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
We offer franchises (“Sport Lines Franchise(s)” or “Franchise(s)”) for the use of our “SPORT LINES” trademarks, trade names, service marks, and logos (“Marks”) for the operation of Sport Lines Businesses. Sport Lines Businesses are operated under our proprietary Sport Lines system (“System”). The System may be changed or modified by us throughout your ownership of the Franchise. Sport Lines Businesses provides line and logo painting for athletic fields and courts and special event yard and field painting. Because a Sport Lines Business is a mobile business, you will most likely operate your Franchise from your home, but you may choose to rent an executive suite office or other commercial office or retail space. You must sign our standard franchise agreement attached to this Franchise Disclosure Document as Exhibit B (“Franchise Agreement”). You may operate one Sport Lines Business for each Franchise Agreement you sign. Your Sport Lines Business will have a designated territory (“Territory”) for which you will be primarily responsible.
Sport Lines franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Sport Lines franchise cost?
- $31,300 all-in to open, per Sport Lines's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).