Thriveworks franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Thriveworks franchise takes $37,100 – $78,282 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $10,000 – $20,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 3% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Thriveworks franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $10,000 | $20,000 | $10,000 to $20,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $37,100 | $78,282 | $37,100 to $78,282 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $37,100 | $78,282 | $37,100 to $78,282 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Thriveworks's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 3% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 1% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
See the full Thriveworks cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Thriveworks's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Thriveworks's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:
- Minimum startup cost of $37,100 — about 80% below the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
- Initial franchise fee of $10,000 — about 80% below the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.
Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Thriveworks's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2014–2016: began the window at 0 units; 16 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 18 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Thriveworks or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Thriveworks for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Thriveworks is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Thriveworks grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Thriveworks can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Thriveworks franchise
Thriveworks is a health & fitness franchisor with 18 units at the end of 2016 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2014 and 2016, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 16 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 18 units. Its parent company is Thriveworks Franchising, LLC.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The Franchise offered is for the operation of a therapy center that offers counseling and mental health services as a comprehensive solution for people of all ages to help improve their happiness, relationships and overall life success. Each center will specialize in providing professional counseling and mental health services and up-to-date treatment techniques through licensed mental health professionals. This is a client-centric counseling and life coaching business dedicated to empowering clients to get to the next level of their personal and professional lives, under the name "Thriveworks ".
Thriveworks franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Thriveworks franchise cost?
- $37,100 – $78,282 all-in to open, per Thriveworks's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Thriveworks units are there?
- 18 units at the end of 2016 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Thriveworks's units held up?
- 100% of units at risk between 2014 and 2016 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).