TSS Photography franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a TSS Photography franchise takes $20,415 – $74,725 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $18,150 – $59,125. To qualify, TSS Photography asks for $10,500 in liquid cash and a $50,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
TSS Photography franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $18,150 | $59,125 | $18,150 to $59,125 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $20,415 | $74,725 | $20,415 to $74,725 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $50,000 | $50,000 | $50,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $10,500 | $10,500 | $10,500 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $20,415 | $74,725 | $20,415 to $74,725 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 50% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 10 years |
See the full TSS Photography cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How TSS Photography's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where TSS Photography's disclosed cost sits against the Event Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $20,415 — about 43% below the Event Services median of $35,563.
- Initial franchise fee of $18,150 — about in line with the Event Services median of $18,150.
Category medians are computed from the Event Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Event Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How TSS Photography's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2017: began the window at 222 units; 82 units opened, 109 closed, ending at 176 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for TSS Photography or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask TSS Photography for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether TSS Photography is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether TSS Photography grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only TSS Photography can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the TSS Photography franchise
TSS Photography is an event services franchisor with 176 units at the end of 2017 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2017, it began the window at 222 units; its filings record 82 unit openings and 109 closures, ending at 176 units. Its parent company is Candid Color Systems. The filings indicate financing options are available; terms come from the franchisor, not from us.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The franchisee will operate a business that promotes, markets, and sells specialty photographic products to individuals and groups that participate in youth sports and social and school events.
TSS Photography franchise: quick answers
- How much does a TSS Photography franchise cost?
- $20,415 – $74,725 all-in to open, per TSS Photography's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many TSS Photography units are there?
- 176 units at the end of 2017 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have TSS Photography's units held up?
- 78.6% of units at risk between 2015 and 2017 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).