Village Inn franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Village Inn franchise takes $1,099,000 – $2,745,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $40,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Village Inn franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $40,000 | $40,000 | $40,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $1,099,000 | $2,745,000 | $1,099,000 to $2,745,000 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $1,099,000 | $2,745,000 | $1,099,000 to $2,745,000 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Village Inn's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 6% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 1% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 10 years |
See the full Village Inn cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Village Inn's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Village Inn's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:
- Minimum startup cost of $1,099,000 — about 3.9× the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
- Initial franchise fee of $40,000 — about in line with the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.
Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Village Inn's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2021: began the window at 87 units; 52 units opened, 36 closed, ending at 96 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Village Inn or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Village Inn for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Village Inn is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Village Inn grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Village Inn can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Village Inn franchise
Village Inn is a food & beverage franchisor with 96 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2021, it began the window at 87 units; its filings record 52 unit openings and 36 closures, ending at 96 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is American Blue Ribbon Holdings, LLC.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The franchise being offered is for a Village Inn restaurant. We may also offer you the right to acquire and operate one or more existing Village Inn restaurants from us or our affiliates (each a "Company Franchise Initiative Restaurant"). Village Inn is a sit-down family dining concept. It features a variety of menu items for all meal periods, but specializes in pancakes, omelets, skillets, eggs, and other popular breakfast items.
Village Inn franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Village Inn franchise cost?
- $1,099,000 – $2,745,000 all-in to open, per Village Inn's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Village Inn units are there?
- 96 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Village Inn's units held up?
- 77.6% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).